Plenary Fri-1

Schramm Lecture (Omer Angel)

Conference
9:00 AM — 10:00 AM KST
Local
Jul 22 Thu, 8:00 PM — 9:00 PM EDT

Balloons in space(s)

Omer Angel (University of British Columbia)

8
We study a process of growing balls that annihilating on contact in several spaces, and explore the connection to stable matchings, random graphs, and conjectures regarding the Weil-Petersson measure.

With Gourab Ray and Yinon Spinka.

Session Chair

Maria Eulália Vares (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro)

Enter Zoom
Plenary Fri-2

Kolmogorov Lecture (Persi Diaconis)

Conference
10:00 AM — 11:00 AM KST
Local
Jul 22 Thu, 9:00 PM — 10:00 PM EDT

From algorithm to theorem

Persi Diaconis (Stanford University)

10
When you meet a new object (parking functions, perfectoid spaces,...) a natural question to ask is 'what does a typical such object 'look like'?. This points to the need to have methods of generating 'typical objects'--those are the algorithms. In many, many cases, the availability of explicit algorithms can be turned into limit theorems (often with sharp error terms) allowing proofs for the patterns observed. This is a familiar activity; there are many ways of generating random permutations of n things, points on a line, points in space, the Feller coupling, Fisher - Yates and others. Each of these makes some kind of limit theorems 'easy'. I will give examples drawn from many areas, but focus on using the little known algorithm of Stam to generate random set partitions and my joint work with Chern, Kane and Rhodes. Proofs often need conditioned limit theory (dePoissonization) in fairly sophisticated forms for algorithms that entail randomizing a parameter to make components independent. There is also the dual task of going from theorems to algorithms (and then,...)

Session Chair

Laurent Saloff-Coste (Cornell University)

Enter Zoom
Plenary Fri-3

Wald Lecture 3 (Martin Barlow)

Conference
7:00 PM — 8:00 PM KST
Local
Jul 23 Fri, 6:00 AM — 7:00 AM EDT

Higher dimensional spaces

Martin Barlow (University of British Columbia)

6
I will begin by discussing supercritical percolation clusters, where the random walk has Gaussian type bounds, and also satisfies an invariance principle. I will then discuss the challenge posed by fractal graphs with high dimension. I will conclude by reviewing models in the plane, such as the uniform infinite planar triangulation, a topic with connections to the Gaussian free field and Liouville quantum gravity.

Session Chair

Takashi Kumagai (Kyoto University)

Enter Zoom
Plenary Fri-4

Presentation of the Inaugural Willem van Zwet Medal and Closing Remarks

Conference
8:00 PM — 9:00 PM KST
Local
Jul 23 Fri, 7:00 AM — 8:00 AM EDT

Presentation of the Inaugural Willem van Zwet Medal. Closing Remarks.

Claudia Klüppelberg (Past President of the Bernoulli Society)

5
This talk does not have an abstract.

Invitation to the Bernoulli-IMS 11th World Congress in Bochum (Germany)

Herold Dehling

5
This talk does not have an abstract.

Session Chair

Siva Athreya (Indian Statistical Institute) / Hee-Seok Oh (Seoul National University)

Enter Zoom

Made with in Toronto · Privacy Policy · © 2021 Duetone Corp.